Back to All State Requirements

Oklahoma Massage Therapy Continuing Education Requirements 2026

Requirements last verified: September 2, 2026 View official state source

Oklahoma massage therapists must complete 5 hours of continuing education each year to renew their massage therapy license. Because Oklahoma licenses are renewed for two years, massage therapists will generally complete 10 CE hours during each two-year license period. Continuing education must address topics within the scope of massage therapy or related business practices. Oklahoma allows CE to be completed through in-person instruction or distance learning. CPR and First Aid may also qualify when a complete course with certification is completed.

MassageTherapyCEU.com offers online and home-study continuing education courses that can be used toward the Oklahoma massage therapy continuing education requirement. As an NCBTMB Approved Provider #409296-00, we offer a wide variety of massage therapy courses that can help Oklahoma massage therapists complete their required CE hours. You can verify this information or contact the state with questions through the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.

Suggested courses for Oklahoma massage therapy license renewal:

Oklahoma Massage Therapy CE Requirements at a Glance

Requirement Oklahoma
CE Hours Required 5 CE hours per year
Two-Year Total 10 CE hours
CE Requirement Courses must address massage therapy or related business practices
Ethics Requirement No separate ethics-hour requirement specified
Online CE Distance learning is allowed
CPR/First Aid May qualify when a complete course with certification is completed
Renewal Period Two years
Documentation Verifiable evidence of completion is required
NCBTMB NCBTMB-approved CE is accepted

How Many CE Hours Does an Oklahoma Massage Therapist Need?

Oklahoma massage therapists must complete 5 hours of continuing education per year as a condition of license renewal. For a typical two-year license period, this means completing 10 CE hours.

Continuing education must address topics within the scope of massage therapy or related business practices. Oklahoma also permits CPR or First Aid training to count when the licensee completes a complete course with certification.

Oklahoma CE Provider Requirements

Oklahoma accepts continuing education approved or provided by qualifying organizations and providers, including state-licensed or accredited massage therapy schools, accredited institutions of higher education, professional organizations such as the NCBTMB.

MassageTherapyCEU.com is an NCBTMB Approved Provider #409296-00. Our courses are designed for massage therapists and cover topics related to massage therapy practice and professional development.

Can Oklahoma Massage Therapists Take CE Online?

Yes. Oklahoma allows continuing education to be completed through distance learning as well as in-person instruction. The current Oklahoma massage therapy rule does not specify a maximum number of distance-learning hours.

Does Oklahoma Require Ethics Continuing Education?

No separate ethics-hour requirement is currently specified for Oklahoma massage therapists. The required CE must address topics within the scope of massage therapy or related business practices. Ethics courses may still be chosen as part of the required CE when they meet the applicable requirements.

Does Oklahoma Require CPR Continuing Education?

CPR or First Aid training may qualify as continuing education in Oklahoma. To receive credit, the licensee must complete a complete course with certification. CPR is not a separate required number of CE hours under the current massage therapy continuing education rule.

How to Complete Your Oklahoma Massage Therapy CE

Step 1: Check Your Renewal Date

Determine when your Oklahoma massage therapy license expires and identify the CE period that applies to your renewal.

Step 2: Complete 5 CE Hours Per Year

Complete 5 hours of qualifying continuing education each year, for a typical total of 10 hours during a two-year license period.

Step 3: Choose Your Courses

Select courses related to massage therapy practice or related business practices. Oklahoma allows qualifying distance-learning courses.

Step 4: Renew Your License

When renewing your Oklahoma massage therapy license, certify that you have completed the required continuing education and provide verification when required by the Board.

Oklahoma Massage Therapy CE FAQs

How many CE hours are required for Oklahoma massage therapists?

Oklahoma requires 5 CE hours per year. For a typical two-year license period, this equals 10 CE hours.

Can I take all of my Oklahoma massage therapy CE online?

Yes. Oklahoma allows continuing education through distance learning or in-person instruction, and the current rule does not specify a maximum number of distance-learning hours.

Does Oklahoma require ethics CE for massage therapists?

No separate ethics-hour requirement is currently specified for Oklahoma massage therapists.

Can CPR or First Aid count as Oklahoma massage therapy CE?

Yes. CPR or First Aid may count when the licensee completes a complete course with certification.

Does Oklahoma accept NCBTMB-approved CE?

Yes. Oklahoma specifically lists the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) among the professional organizations whose approved or provided continuing education is accepted.

MassageTherapyCEU.com is an NCBTMB Approved Provider #409296-00.

Does Oklahoma have a limit on online CE hours?

No specific maximum for distance-learning CE is currently stated in the Oklahoma massage therapy continuing education rule.

Where can I verify Oklahoma massage therapy CE requirements?

You can verify current requirements or contact the state through the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.